Celebrating our Volunteers

Latest News

The Higgins Community Service Awards gives me the opportunity to recognise the work that volunteers do to make the local community such a warm, caring, safe and inclusive community.

Over 200 people attended my Higgins Community Christmas in July function at the Malvern Banquet Hall on Wednesday 27 July 2016.

I asked each organisation in my electorate to nominate a person who has made a significant contribution to our community in a volunteer capacity.

I was thrilled to receive more than 50 nominations from local organisations representing a range of interests across the community including cultural and sporting clubs, aged care organisations, environmental groups, schools and emergency services.

The following volunteers received an award:

Moira Bainbridge, Malvern Special Needs Playgroup
Adam Beggs, Burwood Tennis Club
Dini Belgraver, Inclusion Melbourne
Maree Brown, Chadstone Lacrosse Club
Bruce Brown, St James Anglican Church Glen Iris
Stuart Burriss, Toorak Primary School
John Chandler, City of Stonnington
Trevor Craddock, St John’s Anglican Church Toorak
Anne Ferguson, Cabrini Health – Palliative Care
Gwen Fitzgerald, St Anthony’s Parish
Jan Gnatt, Glen Iris Junior Football Club
Eleanor Griffiths, YMCA Ashburton Pool and Recreation Centre/Fitness Angels
Allan Hall, Very Special Kids
Bernard Hall, Serrell Street Kindergarten
Dorothy Haskin, Cabrini Health
John Hood, mecwacare
Katie James, Gumnuts Playgroup
Gillian Jervis, Yarra Riverkeeper Association
Stephan Kokkas, De La Salle College
Scott Lawson, Riversdale Soccer Club
Preston LeFebour, St Joseph’s Outreach Services
Jia Dong Lin, Ashburton Chinese Senior Friendship Association
Dr Doug Lording, Men of Malvern
Paul Lourey, Glen Iris Cricket Club
Janet Massie, Carnegie Traders Association
Andrea McNeil, Malvern Marlins Masters Swimming Club
Huseyin Meyzin, Australian Western Thrace Turkish Association of Victoria Inc.
Kate Moloney, 5000 Poppies
Phillip Morton, Armadale Baptist Church
Phillip Munslow, Victorian SES Malvern Branch
Jane Nigro, Malvern Historical Society
Peter Norman OAM, Prahran Cricket Club
John O’Callaghan, Glen Eira Historical Society
Sharon Pappas, ABC Community Garden
Sharon Pickering, Prahran Junior Football
Barbara Quinn, Stonnington Toy Library
Lisa Ring, St Kevin’s Old Boys Football Club
Marilyn Ryan, SIDS and Kids
Angelo Sardellis, Oakleigh Grammar
Nadia Scroce, Bowen Street Community Centre
Jan Sigley, Better Hearing Australia/Rotary Club of Toorak
Velly Slavin, Chabad House Malvern
Kaye Speed, Blind Sports and Recreation Victoria
Pamela Swansson, Glenloch Homes
Liat Swieca, The King David School
Dennis Tarrant, Murrumbeena Community Bank
Catherine Turnbull, St Matthews Anglican Church (Hope Prahran)
Peter Van Mourik, 13th Malvern Scout Group
Dawn Vivian, Vision Australia
Dr Linda Walsh, Teen Talk Production
Ron Weinmann, Heartbeart Cabrini Inc
Phillip Williams, Stonnington City Brass
Hazel Willis, Ashburton Uniting Tennis Club
Anna Wilson, Malvern Central School
Alan Winn, Community Information Glen Eira
Patricia Woodcroft-Lee, Multicultural Association of Russian Speaking Women  Ogonyok (MARWO)
Frank Youakim, Self Help Addiction Resource Centre