Profile of the electoral division of Higgins

The electorate of Higgins covers 41 square kilometres in Melbourne’s south-east. It includes all or parts of Armadale, Ashburton, Camberwell, Carnegie, Glen Iris, Hawthorn East, Hughesdale, Kooyong, Malvern East, Malvern, Murrumbeena, Ormond, Prahran, South Yarra and Toorak.

Higgins is named after Henry Higgins. Higgins was an active member of the Constitutional Conventions that led to the Commonwealth of Australia, Member of the House of Representatives, a Justice of the High Court and President of the Commonwealth Conciliation and Arbitration Court.


  • O’Dwyer, K (LP) 2009–
  • Costello, P (LP) 1990–2009
  • Shipton, R F (LP) 1975–1990
  • Gorton, J G (LP/IND) 1968–1975
  • Holt, H E (LP) 1949–1967

More information about the Higgins electorate can be found here.

Map of Higgins

The AEC updated the boundaries of Higgins on 13 July 2018. The new boundaries can be seen below:

Click here to download large version